House music: everyone is doing it

By Alex Zaneski

Do you know who Dom Dolla is? Have you desperately tried to get Fred Again.. tickets despite knowing only his three most popular songs? If so, you, like me, may be joining the house music bandwagon. 

House music has seemingly out of nowhere suddenly become a driving force in pop culture. Beyonce, Troye Sivan, and Drake have all released house inspired albums over the past few years. Festival Lineups have become stacked with DJs headlining; and men everywhere have downloaded Rekordboxed and bought tables in hopes of DJing their frat formals and then immediately afterwards becoming the next John Summit. As ashamed as I am to admit it, I have within the last year gone from not being able to name a single DJ to frantically RSVPing for Charli XCX’s Brooklyn Boiler Room (I did not get in). 

Personally, my enjoyment of house music comes from its ability to get me to focus on the moment, whether that’s grinding out a ten page paper 12 hours before its due or seamlessly slamming down 5 consecutive shots of fireball on a Saturday night. When I listen to house music, there is nothing there but a bass, a synth, and probably one or two of the most generic verses you have ever heard in my mind. Like a natural instinct, a frat flick flows into my hand and all my worries drift away.

Leave a comment